h1

New Mission: All Seeker’s Eve October 2014

October 11, 2014

There is a convergence in the Fandom. A very unintentional but nonetheless timely convergence, I might add. I have been devoting so much time for work projects the last few months I haven’t really made time for my fandom interests. It takes a lot of work for me to mount a Legend of the Seeker fan promotion campaign, for example. And sometimes it just takes a lot of work for me to participate in the online discussions I enjoy, whether I am posting in forums, writing blog posts, or sharing things on social media services like Twitter and Facebook. “If only I had enough time to prepare,” I keep telling myself.

And then about a week ago as I was walking down the yellow brick road I realized that Halloween was coming up again and that this is a perfect holiday for people to get their fandom on. You can wear costumes and no one will think you’re a nerd or geek or abnormal. It’s Halloween and millions of people put on costumes. So why not Legend of the Seeker costumes among all the others?

And that led me to think of turning Halloween into a day to celebrate being a Legend of the Seeker fan. Sure, you can be a fan of the Sword of Truth novels, and of Terry Goodkind, but we’re the fan movement that wants to revive the television show (current objective being a movie). A movie sounds doable. And if successful then there might be another movie behind that. Craig Horner appealed to fandom to push for a movie instead of a third season:

So movie it is, and Laura Ventura has been quietly and consistently pursuing all options for a movie through the Save Our Seeker campaign. After mulling over ideas for how to steal Halloween from all the kids wanting to poison themselves with candy (I miss being able to do that), I settled upon the meme of “All Seeker’s Eve”. And just to give it added OOMPH I didn’t want to steal just 1 day; I decided to go for an entire week.

Fandom is very creative. It makes artwork, video, cosplay, blog posts, fan fiction, and all sorts of things to share, enjoy, and express a love for great stories and characters. A long time ago, in a land now lost, we were fandom. I think people should recapture that feeling.

There are still some great fan Websites out there. Many of them are now on Tumblr. Some of them are still on traditional blogs like this one. And I’m not sure where the Live Journal community went but I think they may still be there.

I began sharing Tweet memes this week on three of my Twitter accounts. The response has been great. I mean, seriously, REALLY great. There has been a lot of engagement. That means you people ain’t dead yet. And so I have high hopes for All Seeker’s Eve. But that won’t happen without you.

I am asking you to be creative for the last week of October 2014. If this goes over well then we’ll do it again next year and the year after that. And I don’t want you to just be creative on Twitter. Wherever you have a social media or blog or forum account, SHARE SOMETHING. You can create it yourself or you can dig it out from the archives.

SHARE SOMETHING EVERYDAY.

More importantly, I want you to attach a message to what you share. When I launched the All Seeker’s Eve campaign I didn’t have much time to prepare so I didn’t reach out to Laura. But she contacted me soon afterward and let me know that she had been working on something for October, too. And now everyone can see what is up.

If you visit The Save Our Seeker Contest Page you’ll see that from October 11 through November 10 Laura is sponsoring a Save Our Seeker Letter Writing Contest. If we send Sam Raimi enough letters showing him there is strong fan support for a movie, he may do something. He CAN do something. He’s Sam Raimi. He has a lot of credibility and clout within the industry. Making big blockbuster movies and successful television shows gave him that clout.

Remember that Legend of the Seeker did not end for lack of an audience. The show came to an end because the Tribune Company, which controlled 1/3 of the American syndication market for the show, went into bankruptcy and cancelled all of its expensive shows. LOTS was just an unfortunate victim of circumstance. And regrettably the only network that gave any consideration to picking up the show, SyFy, was in the end intimidated by all the illegal downloads of episodes by fans around the world who could not watch it any other way. We criticized them for making a half-hearted effort to test the waters but what’s done is done. They tried, and we need to move on.

So let’s aim for a movie. Anything can happen after a movie proves to be successful.

