h1

Con Report: Legend of the Seeker at DragonCon 2013, Day 1

August 31, 2013

I wish I could give a full con report but I spent a fair amount of the day looking for a reliable WiFi spot at the convention (apparently there are none). The Hyatt Concierge Desk told me that their WiFi was having problems; they predicted it would be working again by 9 PM and the service did improve. But even if you’re in the lobby just moving around kills the signal.

The Mariott Concierge Desk told me their public access WiFi is only available on the LOBBY level and it works best near the elevators. I went over by the Starbucks and tried for 30-40 minutes to get a good connection and could not. Unfortunately, I expect the rest of the weekend to be even worse than today.

I stopped by the Legend of the Seeker fan table as soon as I got to the convention. I met Stephanie and two other ladies. Everyone will have to forgive me as I am bad with names and would rather not embarrass myself by trying to assign the wrong names to the wrong people. There were at least two Stephanies today. The Stephanie I spoke with is the lady on the right in this picture.

Legend of the Seeker fan table at DragonCon 2013.

Legend of the Seeker fan table at DragonCon 2013.

The LOTS fan table sits right next to The One Ring’s fan table. They run the Tolkien and Middle-earth fan track (and I’ll be speaking on one of their panels on Saturday).

Crowd shot from the Legend of the Seeker meetup at DragonCon 2013.

Crowd shot from the Legend of the Seeker meetup at DragonCon 2013.

I was able to attend the 4:00 PM Legend of the Seeker meetup organized by the American SciFi and Fantasy Media track. I think about 30 people attended. The meetup was rather informal so we talked a little bit and then someone suggested that the group take pictures of the people in costume. I could not get a good shot of all the costumes; I’m not much of a photographer and I was bouncing around, trying not to get in the way of better photographers.

Anyway, all my pictures are out of focus, or nearly so. Here is one of the better group shots.

Legend of the Seeker fans wearing costumes at DragonCon 2013.

Legend of the Seeker fans wearing costumes at DragonCon 2013.

There was an 11:30 PM photo shoot for LOTS cosplayers. I considered staying for it but the hotels were so hot, I could not log on to the Internet with either my cell phone or my laptop, and I had wandered off to enjoy some of the convention so I had lost touch with the Seeker fans. I dropped by the fan table after they shut it down.

Having run two fan tracks for DragonCon I can tell you that Fridays are hard to program for. You often don’t have all your guests/panelists available and so you don’t schedule your best sessions on Friday if you can avoid doing so. On the other hand, if you CAN put together a good show then Friday is a great time to do that because there is less competition.

Still, I only saw one show, the Atlanta Radio Theater Company. They are an audio performance troupe. They perform full plays as if they were being broadcast on the radio, so the audience can see the actors and the sound effects people. I have enjoyed watching ARTC (pronounced “ART-see”) productions in the past but this one was the largest and most sophisticated that I have seen.

I also ran into a couple of old friends and chatted for a while about old times, sharing gossip, etc. You don’t want to hear all that, do you? 🙂

J.R.R. Tolkien and Terry Goodkind fan booths at DragonCon 2013.

J.R.R. Tolkien and Terry Goodkind fan booths at DragonCon 2013.

Here is another picture of the fan booths that I took later in the day (after the meetup, I think).

When I can I will post more about the convention but I suspect it will only be after I get home.

