h1

TV Star publishes 1st half of Craig Horner interview

May 21, 2010

Here is an excerpt from TV Star’s interview with Craig Horner:

“There was a little feeling (that the end was near),” Horner told TVStar.com earlier this week during an exclusive interview. “We kind of found out towards the end of the second season that certain of our investors wouldn’t be around for a third time. That created a little bit of a stir amongst us and from that moment on I tried to spend the last two months, just in case, going around to every place we went to soaking up that scenery and everything about it, every person, every tree, every plant, animal, everything about Auckland. I was like, ‘If this is true, if it doesn’t go, then I’m really going to miss this place, because I really love it.’ So there was a bit of that, and I’m glad I soaked it up while I was there.”

Horner and company had already wrapped “Tears” when word reached him in his hometown of Brisbane, Australia — as he was walking to buy a cup of coffee — that Legend of the Seeker would not return. Horner was saddened, of course, and disappointed, not to mention suddenly jobless. But the first thought that struck him upon hearing the news was there’d be no chance to say a proper farewell to his co-stars and crew. The season-two wrap party had been held already, and though many in attendance thought it might be the last time they were all together, thinking that’s possible and realizing that it’s now a reality are two vastly different things. Horner puts it quite succinctly when he noted, “There was no ‘Goodbye, Seeker.'”

Really in-depth article. Head on over there and read it. Take note of one fact in all this: What appears to have been the real deal-killer WAS ALL THE ILLEGAL INTERNET DOWNLOADING. Too many science fiction fans have rationalized stealing intellectual properties to themselves. Well, this is one example of the consequences of stealing shows off the Internet: the companies that produce them lose distribution clout. Remember that the next time you decide it’s okay to use a torrent site to get a frew viewing of a movie or TV show.

Bridget Regan also just spoke briefly with TV Guide about the show’s cancellation as well.

One more thing: Don’t give up yet.

18 comments

  1. Interesting re the mention of illegal downloading. People outside of the USA are inpatient and don’t like waiting months before they have to see a show – you’d have to stay off the internet in fear of being completely spoilered. Not a good enough excuse I know, but annoying to a lot of people.

    The problem the big movie cartels, like ABC/Disney have with it is the copyright infringement aka. ‘loss of profit.’ They need to realise people (fans!) DO download the show, HOWEVER they also watch it when it airs AND they buy the DVDs. There’s no loss of profit/revenue there.

    I wish studios would embrace technology and work with it (which they are doing but not at the pace they should be). If they said right, we’re going to charge say £3 for each episode, maybe release it online before TV airing – work out something. I will glady pay it, and I’ll STILL continue buying the DVD’s and watching it when it airs in my contry. That is how much I adore this show!

    Thanks for the post!


    • “There’s no loss of profit/revenue there.”

      They clearly disagree with that point of view, since the law entitles copyright owners to fair compensation for EVERY download of a protected property.

      I think the studios are embracing the technology and working with it. Look at all the shows you can watch on Hulu, and today it was announced that Disney is investing in Hulu.

      But this is the bottom line: if SyFy chose NOT to save the Seeker because of the downloads, there is NO excuse for downloading the show illegally. We all go without because some people insist on theft of intellectual property rights.

      So keep downloading the shows if you want to see them cancelled early. A LOT of genre shows have bit the dust after 2 seasons recently.

      It’s time the fans take responsibility for the harm they are doing to themselves and to others. Several hundred people just lost their jobs in part because of the downloading. Tell THEM it’s okay.


  2. Craig remains one of the most honest people I have ever seen. His words aren’t carefully prepared and rehearsed like many others. I admire that. We have to get the Seeker back just to give a man like this his job back.

    What a way for Disney-ABC to inform their performers. Just like all the other corporations; faceless, uncaring and moneygrubbing. It’s a trend in America that is ruining the country. Well enough said about that, we still may need them.

    So, lets keep working. The 9th inning is still far from over.


  3. Well said Jim! Definitely NOWHERE near over. :o)

    I’m still annoyed that I bought Season 1 on DVD and I can’t even play it, aka. ABC have my money and I have a useless DVD. Mind boggling!

    Anyhow, thanks for the contiuing updates, always check back here to see what else is happening and how else I can help!


  4. I don’t think he referred to illegal downloading, but downloading in general. Because of the availability of the show online, legal and illegal, it becomes a big issue when you’re discussing distribution since whatever channels picks it up would likely not get a cut of that deal, and I’m sure ABC/Disney wasn’t willing to pull the show from Netflix and Hulu.


    • It is possible that just the issue of downloading is at the heart of Craig’s comment, but SyFy lets you view episodes online (a lot of the networks do).

      I am interpreting — based on my personal knowledge of some of the actions that studios are taking individually against file sharing networks — the remark to mean that SyFy apparently was concerned about illegal downloads.

      It is a HUGE issue with the film and television industry right now. They are not making any money off those downloads.


  5. I think that they are going about this slightly out of order. If not for Torrents I wouldn’t have EVER seen this show. I am now a very faithful follower, i watch it air on WGN every week, I BUY the eps from iTunes on monday when they come out and I own 2 copies of the S1 DVD’s plus I preordered the 2nd season.

    It’s time for TV to embrace what they have. Everyone I know learned through word of mouth. Now Netflix has it up, I have an account that I’ve ~lent people to watch it online for free to catch up!

    If only there was promotion of the show the DL’s would be a minor issue. They need to generate more interest through advertising, then people wouldn’t rely on catching up using questionable methods.

    I also Agree with Fey, it’s the legal part that they were more concerned with, especially considering the rumor is that ABC/Disney was the deal breaker. Not SyFy.


    • I believe it would be great if the TV industry devised an online distribution model. But they are being very conservative about it at this point. We can continue to show our support for legal viewing services like Hulu (which just became the 3rd or 2nd most visited video site on the Internet).

      And we can continue to ask that these services find ways to provide feeds to fans overseas. I understand that those feeds may impact overseas distribution sales — in which case, we need to step up to the plate and become an audience for a profitable online video industry.


  6. Sorry this got so long…I agree with you but I have to rant about this because it gets me worked up…feel free to decide TL;DR. :P.

    It’s hard because in Australia, I’m effectively locked out of the fandom if I don’t participate illegally. I literally can’t participate legally, if anyone knows how I can get Hulu to work from here I would gladly be stacking up views for Seeker there. My parents have Foxtel and record and watch live every episode as it screens, but I can’t do more than that.

    Deej is from Australia and would not have even thought of starting Gay for Kahlan if she didn’t have access to the episodes online. All the fan vidders, and icon makers, and other champions of the fandom would not have been able to participate or make the fandom the international, colourful place it is without illegal access.

    That said, I think the industry needs to change and embrace online distribution, and learn how to handle a vibrant worldspanning fandom. I know you can see it too, but I don’t know what I can do in future to prevent this happening again. I can try not torrenting the episodes, but I will get the ending of the series ruined, and only be able to appreciate the recaps about a year after they were made. I would stay away from the fandom for fear of spoilering and would never have donated to the ad campaign.

    Long rant aside, I’m sad and frustrated…what can I do to help more than I have been? Am I contributing more by sharing the episodes among my friends? Several of them have bought legal copies via iTunes (as I intend to when the DVD is released here) who would not have even gone near the show otherwise. Should international fans start show rescue campaigns as soon as they start? Bottom line is, it’s easy to make a couple of seasons of shows like this, than try and keep them going longer. The networks will only market them as far as they find it cost effective, and if the fans want a long lasting series they have to prop it up themselves, which they shouldn’t have to, and ultimately fail nearly every time. I want to do what you say, but living outside the US I’m virtually powerless. I think your comments should be directed towards US and other first-run viewers of these shows, as I cannot see how they have any excuse to use torrents and not Hulu.


  7. I admit, I had to torrent a couple episodes myself because of the station continually changing time on me. But I also watched it on Netflix before that, because I couldn’t find it on my stations. Really, the reason this show was downloaded so much was because the advertising for it SUCKED. Or, it practically didn’t exist.


  8. Hardly fair to blame people who donwload, pathetic, really.


  9. I don’t think that illegal downloads are a major problem. They don’t influence ratings at all, and ratings are everything the networks are concerned about. To get my point of view, you need to understand how those stupid rating systems work: A few people are getting devices that are logging what those people view on tv. Although I don’t know the exact numbers for the u.s., i do know the german numbers, where the system is exactly the same: There are less than 10000(!) of those boxes for more than 80 million people. 10000 people are deciding what the other 79990000 get to see and what not. The 79million can download what the hell they want to, bcause nobody gives a crap. Nobody KNOWS what they’re watching. So, if you don’t happen to be one of the lucky few with a rating-device (in fact, do you even know someone who knows someone who knows someone who knows someone with one??), don’t bother to watch tv. Far more important is to watch it on hulu for example, they’re counting every single viewer!
    Buy the DVDs, buy it on I-Tunes, send letters and emails. Don’t waste your time trying to improve the ratings, nobody’ll notice.


    • LOTS.org forum user Jace suggested (in an apparent effort to defuse the argument that I guess was raging while I was offline) that perhaps SyFy was concerned about the LEGAL downloads — i.e., that fans would watch the show from too many alternative sources.

      It’s a reasonable inference. Unfortunately, the conversation got out of control, with people making all sorts of inaccurate statements (somehow we went from “SyFy decided not to pick up the show” to “this guy is suggesting LOTS was cancelled because of illegal downloads!”).

      The rationalizations people offer for illegal downloads simply don’t matter, as they have utterly failed to convince the copyright owners to allow the downloading to continue.

      Whether the downloads contributed to SyFy’s decision not to pick up the show is probably debatable — given how sketchy our information is.

      But downloads were not the reason why the show was cancelled. The show was cancelled because ABC could not find a distributor for it.


  10. Okay, so I have a question. If the writers of LotS knew a while back that the show was being cancelled, why did they finish up the show the way they did. The part that I am talking about is right after Richard placed the stone of tears in the Pillars of Creation they cut away and go to show Nicci being awaken and Darken Rahl saying, “It seems my brother has defeated the Keeper, but I have big plans for you Sister Nicci.” If you were ending the show, why would you even cut away to show something like that? Maybe I am looking to deep into it, but do they intend to leave the series open with Sister Nicci being at the side of Darken Rahl and some new regime of evil? I need some outside perspective on this. Thank you.


    • Wishful thinking, I suppose. There are, after all, 11 books (so far — 3 more are on the way).


      • Wishful thinking? I think not. I know they wouldn’t toy with us like that withough knowing something that we don’t.


      • I’m sure something is going on. But it may take time for all the pieces to fall into place.


  11. Didn’t they write the finale not knowing if their would be a season three or not? They would have written it that way in case the show was renewed.



Comments are closed.

